Attention!
You are viewing a news item in the old website format. There may be display issues in some browser versions.

Close

New Feature: Clan Message Boards in the Clan Profile

Important: Clan Message Boards in the Clan Profile are now available

Effective communication is the key for a successful clan. This is why Wargaming wants to help you with you clan’s communication as we improve the clan portal functions. It’s a handy tool to give important information to all your clanmates or call them to action.

A Clan Message Board is an internal communication tool. It means that unauthorized players and players who are not in your clan will not be able to view it.

 

Who can post on the board?

Only those clan members in certain positions can create messages. They are the Combat Officer, Personnel Officer, Executive Officer and Clan Commander. The table below shows, in detail, the different permissions that the roles have.

Permissions Table
Collapse

 

Rules

Roles

Clan Guests

All clan members

Combat Officer

Personnel Officer and higher

Executive Officer  and higher

Access to Clan Message Board, ability to browse the announcements

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Post, edit, delete messages

No

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Access to the archive, view messages in the archive, backup, delete and restore archived messages

No

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Change the order of messages

No

No

No

No

Yes

Collapse Expand

 

Browsing Clan Message Boards

When entering the Clan page, the visitors will see a special area which displays the three most recent messages.

If the clan has more than three published messages, the rest may be seen by clicking on the squares (as pictured below). The colour of the square informs the reader whether there are unread messages on the page.

 

All clan members have the opportunity to go to the message board page by clicking on "All messages" and also view feeds available to them by clicking on the messages with the left mouse button. Unread mesages have a golden-brown background and a yellow triangle in the upper left corner. After you open and close a message, its status changes to "Read", and the background colour turns grey.

 

Posting on the boards

To post a new message on the board, click on the yellow plus icon. You can also post a message in the section "Messages" and on the page "All messages".

The "New Message" interface has the following elements:

  • Text field (the maximum length of a message is 1,000 characters).
  • Date selection for how long the feed will be displayed. By default, this period is 30 days.
  • Who the message is available to:

                  All clan members;
                  Only the command structure (Combat Officer, Personnel Officer, Executive Officer and Clan Commander)

  • When writing your message, using the buttons at the top-right you can format the text to be in bold or italics and you can insert hyperlinks.
  • The clan cannot have more than 15 active messages displayed at the same time. Messages can be archived by clan members with the appropriate permission (see below).

 

How to edit messages

When you edit messages, it is very similar to posting new messages. An edited message remains in the same place on the list, but it will be "unread".

 

How to delete messages

A clan member with the appropriate permission can permanently delete messages or move them to the archive (see more info below).

 

The list of messages

The Executive Officer and Clan Commander have the opportunity to change the order of messages by dragging and dropping them to create a particular order. This feature can be used to attract the attention of clan members to certain information.

 

Notifications

After posting new messages, the target clan members (all or part of the clan) will receive a special alert. The message will appear in a special interface, which will be implemented on all official websites with Clan Feeds simultaneously. By clicking the link in the alert, the recipient will be able to go directly to the message.

 

The Archive

Those messages which have expired are automatically sent to the archive. Players can always see the date when a particular message will be moved to the archive.

No more than 20 messages can be displayed on one archive page, but the maximum number of pages is unlimited.

If a player has the appropriate permission they can archive any message. Archiving can be useful, for example, if you already have 15 active messages, and you want to add a new one. Additionally, the archive can be used as a repository of message samples which can be restored and reused later.

Archived messages may be deleted permanently by a player with the appropriate permission.

Players who do not have the appropriate permission are unable to view the archive.

 

 

 Roll out!

Close